Our People

Faculty

In collaboration with Northeastern University's global campus, we have over 90 active faculty members, including 62 Core members and 31 Affiliate members. Our core AI research team pushes the frontiers of the technology while our applied AI team works to solve problems across industries.

Faculty Leadership Committee Member
Core Faculty Member
Machine Learning
Climate and Sustainability and Environment
Computer Vision
Data Mining
Jennifer
Dy
Director of AI Faculty

j.dy@northeastern.edu

Read More
Faculty Leadership Committee Member
Wireless Communication
Core Faculty Member
Yakov
Bart
Core Faculty

y.bart@northeastern.edu

Read More
Faculty Leadership Committee Member
Machine Learning
Robotics, Control, and Perception
Responsible and Ethical AI
Core Faculty Member
John
Basl
Core Faculty

j.basl@northeastern.edu

Read More
Faculty Leadership Committee Member
Machine Learning
Data Mining
Time-Series, Spatio-Temporal Data, and Signal Processing
Climate and Sustainability and Environment
Engineering
Auroop
Ganguly
Director of AI for Climate & Sustainability

a.ganguly@northeastern.edu

Read More
Faculty Leadership Committee Member
Statistics and Probability
Databases
Faculty Leadership Committee Member
Core Faculty Member
Wolfgang
Gatterbauer
Core Faculty

w.gatterbauer@northeastern.edu

Read More
Faculty Leadership Committee Member
Health
Core Faculty Member
Faculty Leadership Committee Member
Matthew S.
Goodwin
Core Faculty

m.goodwin@northeastern.edu

Read More
Faculty Leadership Committee Member
Optimization
Databases
Privacy and Cybersecurity
Scalable AI, ML Systems, and High Performance Computing
Design
David
Kaeli
Core Faculty

d.kaeli@northeastern.edu

Read More
Faculty Leadership Committee Member
Machine Learning
Computer Vision
Human Computer Interaction
Core Faculty Member
Faculty Leadership Committee Member
Sarah
Ostadabbas
Core Faculty

s.ostadabbas@northeastern.edu

Read More
Faculty Leadership Committee Member
Machine Learning
Time-Series, Spatio-Temporal Data, and Signal Processing
Health
Life Sciences
Physics
Samuel
Scarpino
Director of AI + Life Sciences

s.scarpino@northeastern.edu

Read More
Faculty Leadership Committee Member
Machine Learning
Optimization
Learning Theory
Health
Life Sciences
Eduardo
Sontag
Core Faculty

e.sontag@northeastern.edu

Read More
Faculty Leadership Committee Member
Machine Learning
Optimization
Robotics, Control, and Perception
Human Computer Interaction
Time-Series, Spatio-Temporal Data, and Signal Processing
Eugene
Tunik
Director of AI + Health

e.tunik@northeastern.edu

Read More
Faculty Leadership Committee Member
Human Computer Interaction
Responsible and Ethical AI
Machine Learning
Natural Language Processing
Health
Byron
Wallace
Core Faculty

b.wallace@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Design
Health
Internet of Things
Gregory
Abowd
Affiliate Faculty

g.abowd@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Optimization
Machine Learning
Data Mining
Scalable AI, ML Systems, and High Performance Computing
Engineering
Muhammad Noor E
Alam
Core Faculty

md.alam@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Education
Ethics
Law
Philosophy
Psychology
Malihe
Alikhani
Core Faculty

m.alikhani@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Machine Learning
Robotics, Control, and Perception
Multi-Agent Systems
Planning and Reasoning
Core Faculty Member
Christopher
Amato
Core Faculty

c.amato@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Natural Language Processing
Responsible and Ethical AI
Machine Learning
Data Mining
Core Faculty Member
Silvio
Amir
Core Faculty

s.amir@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Social Sciences
Economics
Education
Psychology
Political Science and Government
Brian
Ball
Core Faculty

b.ball@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Network Sciences
Core Faculty Member
Albert-Laszlo
Barabasi
Core Faculty

a.barabasi@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Core Faculty Member
Lisa
Barrett
Core Faculty

l.barrett@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Wireless Communication
Internet of Things
Stefano
Basagni
Affiliate Faculty

s.basagni@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Computer Vision
Natural Language Processing
Responsible and Ethical AI
Machine Learning
Core Faculty Member
David
Bau
Core Faculty

d.bau@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Engineering
Luca
Caracoglia
Affiliate Faculty

l.caracoglia@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Internet of Things
Security and Resilience
David
Choffnes
Affiliate Faculty

d.choffnes@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Machine Learning
Statistics and Probability
Privacy and Cybersecurity
Time-Series, Spatio-Temporal Data, and Signal Processing
Physics
Pau
Closas
Core Faculty

pau.closas@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Ethics
Responsible and Ethical AI
Philosophy
Kathleen
Creel
Affiliate Faculty

k.creel@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
No items found.
Aidong
Ding
Affiliate Faculty

a.ding@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Machine Learning
Statistics and Probability
Data Mining
Responsible and Ethical AI
Social Sciences
Tina
Eliassi-Rad
Core Faculty

t.eliassirad@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Learning Theory
Machine Learning
Optimization
Planning and Reasoning
Statistics and Probability
Deniz
Erdogmus
Core Faculty

d.erdogmus@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Business
Engineering
Health
Core Faculty Member
Ozlem
Ergun
Core Faculty

o.ergun@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Human Computer Interaction
Responsible and Ethical AI
Ethics
Social Sciences
Core Faculty Member
Sina
Fazelpour
Core Faculty

s.fazel-pour@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Sciences
Climate and Sustainability and Environment
Life Sciences
Tarik
Gouhier
Affiliate Faculty

t.gouhier@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Life Sciences
Biology, Biochemistry, and Bioinformatics
Natural Language Processing
Semantic Networks and Knowledge Graphs
Statistics and Probability
Benjamin
Gyori
Core Faculty

b.gyori@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Machine Learning
Optimization
Time-Series, Spatio-Temporal Data, and Signal Processing
Generative Modeling
Core Faculty Member
Paul
Hand
Core Faculty

p.hand@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Machine Learning
Data Visualization
Human Computer Interaction
Climate and Sustainability and Environment
Design
Casper
Harteveld
Core Faculty

c.harteveld@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Law
Woodrow
Hartzog
Affiliate Faculty

w.hartzog@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Devices
Design
Engineering
Ethics
Health
Megan
Hofmann
Affiliate Faculty

m.hofmann@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Machine Learning
Human Computer Interaction
Health
Core Faculty Member
Stephen
Intille
Core Faculty

s.intille@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Machine Learning
Optimization
Statistics and Probability
Data Mining
Privacy and Cybersecurity
Stratis
Ioannidis
Core Faculty

e.ioannidis@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Computer Vision
Machine Learning
Natural Language Processing
Core Faculty Member
Huaizu
Jiang
Core Faculty

h.jiang@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Privacy and Cybersecurity
Security and Resilience
Core Faculty Member
Engin
Kirda
Core Faculty

e.kirda@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Scalable AI, ML Systems, and High Performance Computing
Machine Learning
Natural Language Processing
Semantic Networks and Knowledge Graphs
Psychology
Alexandros
Koliousis
Core Faculty

a.koliousis@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Core Faculty Member
David
Lazer
Core Faculty

d.lazer@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Devices
Health
Psychology
Robert
Leeman
Affiliate Faculty

r.leeman@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Machine Learning
Optimization
Core Faculty Member
Laurent
Lessard
Core Faculty

l.lessard@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Privacy and Cybersecurity
Scalable AI, ML Systems, and High Performance Computing
Xue
Lin
Core Faculty

xue.lin@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Design
Devices
Engineering
Materials
Physics
Yongmin
Liu
Affiliate Faculty

y.liu@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Life Sciences
Climate and Sustainability and Environment
Katie
Lotterhos
Affiliate Faculty

k.lotterhos@northeastern.edu

Read More
Social Sciences
Wireless Communication
Design
Devices
Education
Lingfei
Luan
Affiliate Faculty

l.luan@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Health
Core Faculty Member
David
Madigan
Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

d.madigan@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
No items found.
Lee
Makowski
Affiliate Faculty

l.makowski@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Core Faculty Member
Ningfang
Mi
Core Faculty

n.mi@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Health
Psychology
Human Computer Interaction
Varun
Mishra
Affiliate Faculty

v.mishra@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Climate and Sustainability and Environment
Engineering
Devices
Sciences
Core Faculty Member
Amy
Mueller
Core Faculty

a.mueller@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Time-Series, Spatio-Temporal Data, and Signal Processing
Statistics and Probability
Privacy and Cybersecurity
Robotics and Autonomous Vehicles
Security and Resilience
Cristina
Nita-Rotaru
Core Faculty

c.nitarotaru@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Fraud Detection
Economics
Education
Health
Workforce Development
Beth
Noveck
Core Faculty

b.noveck@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Life Sciences
Biology, Biochemistry, and Bioinformatics
Chemistry and Chemical Biology
Mary Jo
Ondrechen
Affiliate Faculty

m.ondrechen@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Machine Learning
Privacy and Cybersecurity
Security and Resilience
Core Faculty Member
Alina
Oprea
Core Faculty

a.oprea@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Optimization
Robotics, Control, and Perception
Human Computer Interaction
Responsible and Ethical AI
Planning and Reasoning
Taskin
Padir
Affiliate Faculty

t.padir@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Natural Language Processing
Responsible and Ethical AI
Synthetic Voice
Machine Learning
Business
Rupal
Patel
Affiliate Faculty

r.patel@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Planning and Reasoning
Machine Learning
Computer Vision
Robotics, Control, and Perception
Human Computer Interaction
Robert
Platt
Core Faculty

r.platt@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Psychology
Core Faculty Member
Karen
Quigley
Core Faculty

k.quigley@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Engineering
Carey M.
Rappaport
Affiliate Faculty

rappaport@coe.neu.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Engineering
Francesco
Restuccia
Affiliate Faculty

f.restuccia@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Climate and Sustainability and Environment
Engineering
Mathematics
Natural Sciences
Robotics and Autonomous Vehicles
David
Rosen
Core Faculty

d.rosen@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Responsible and Ethical AI
Core Faculty Member
Ronald
Sandler
Core Faculty

r.sandler@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Core Faculty Member
Ajay
Satpute
Core Faculty

a.satpute@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Machine Learning
Computer Vision
Time-Series, Spatio-Temporal Data, and Signal Processing
Security and Resilience
Wireless Communication
Aatmesh
Shrivastava
Affiliate Faculty

aatmesh@ece.neu.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Multi-Agent Systems
Scalable AI, ML Systems, and High Performance Computing
Robotics, Control, and Perception
Core Faculty Member
Milad
Siami
Core Faculty

aatmesh@ece.neu.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Time-Series, Spatio-Temporal Data, and Signal Processing
Machine Learning
Computer Vision
Robotics, Control, and Perception
Climate and Sustainability and Environment
Hanumant
Singh
Affiliate Faculty

ha.singh@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
No items found.
Rifat
Sipahi
Affiliate Faculty

rifat@coe.neu.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Natural Language Processing
Core Faculty Member
David
Smith
Core Faculty

davi.smith@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Engineering
Health
Life Sciences
Dagmar
Sternad
Affiliate Faculty

d.sternad@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
No items found.
Milica
Stojanovic
Affiliate Faculty

millitsa@ece.neu.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Learning Theory
Planning and Reasoning
Machine Learning
Optimization
Statistics and Probability
Lili
Su
Core Faculty

l.su@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Scalable AI, ML Systems, and High Performance Computing
Engineering
Core Faculty Member
Devesh
Tiwari
Core Faculty

d.tiwari@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Core Faculty Member
Melanie
Tory
Core Faculty

m.tory@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Arts and Humanities
Education
Ethics
Philosophy
Ilya
Vidrin
Affiliate Faculty

i.vidrin@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Machine Learning
Statistics and Probability
Health
Life Sciences
Core Faculty Member
Olga
Vitek
Core Faculty

o.vitek@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Machine Learning
Optimization
Computer Vision
Natural Language Processing
Scalable AI, ML Systems, and High Performance Computing
Yanzhi
Wang
Core Faculty

yanz.wang@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Social Sciences
Climate and Sustainability and Environment
Health
Engineering
Ryan Qi
Wang
Affiliate Faculty

ryan.qi.wang@gmail.com

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Business
Social Sciences
Social Justice
Brooke Foucault
Welles
Affiliate Faculty

b.welles@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Business
Ethics
Bio Engineering
Core Faculty Member
Patricia J.
Williams
Core Faculty

p.williams@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Ethics
Political Science and Government
Social Sciences
Christo
Wilson
Affiliate Faculty

c.wilson@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Health
Life Sciences
Raimond L.
Winslow
Affiliate Faculty

r.winslow@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Reinforcement Learning
Machine Learning
Robotics, Control, and Perception
Planning and Reasoning
Core Faculty Member
Lawson L.S.
Wong
Core Faculty

l.wong@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Machine Learning
Optimization
Statistics and Probability
Data Mining
Natural Language Processing
Wei
Xie
Core Faculty

w.xie@northeastern.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Engineering
Behavioral Neuroscience
Biotechnology
Health
Psychology
Matthew
Yarossi
Core Faculty

m.yarossi@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
Privacy and Cybersecurity
Machine Learning
Optimization
Statistics and Probability
Engineering
Edmund
Yeh
Affiliate Faculty

eyeh@ece.neu.edu

Read More
Core Faculty Member
Network Sciences
Economics
Machine Learning
Learning Theory
Robust Learning
Hongyang
Zhang
Core Faculty

hrzhang@northeastern.edu

Read More
Affiliate Faculty Member
No items found.
Emily
Zimmerman
Affiliate Faculty

e.zimmerman@neu.edu

Read More